My Favourite Fruit Durian

Image

My Favorite Fruit Durian

Durian has always been one of my favorite fruits.  I could still clearly remember the very first time I saw, smelled, felt and tasted it. It was a normal night when I was enjoying some snacks before dinner. Dad came back home from work. He was carrying a huge box with no descriptions on it. I smelled something strong before he had even walked in. I knew it right away it was not from him but from the suspicious box he was carrying. It was a strong scent that I had never encountered before, something that smelled like moldy cheesecake with banana syrup.

Dad opened the box. I saw tones of old newspaper covering the smelly fruit. I carefully removed the newspaper and there I saw a huge fruit the size of a basketball with brownish thorn-covered skin. I was startled when I first saw it. I started to wonder what kind of fruit would it possibly be. Its unappealing color with its dangerous thorn-covered skin and its strong odor made a really bad first impression on me.

My dad started to open it. He started to open it from the cracks on the skin.  When the durian was finally opened, I could smell the strong stink strike me really hard like I got punch in the face. It feels like one of the famous food in Taiwan, stinky tofu. Once you are around it, your aroma started to smell like it. Inside the fruit were some pale yellow tiny mango-looking pods. The color of it looks really appealing, and when I tried to touch it, it felt really soft like an avocado.

Since I am curious like a cat, I decided to give it a try. I carefully reach out to one of the yellow pods, and I took a small bite.  When I first tasted durian, I couldn’t tell if I liked it or not. It has a strong flavor that I had never tasted before.  It tasted like mango with banana, not sour at all but a lot sweeter. Its texture is really creamy that tasted like cream cheese or cream brulee. After I finished the first piece, I didn’t think I dislike it at all, yet I kind of liked the creamy texture of it.  I decided to give it another try, and I started to love it.

The more I eat durian the more I love it.  Despite it’s unattractive appearance and smelly odor, the taste is amazing. I like the straightforward strong sweet flavor that burst out into my month. It’s like drinking espresso coffee, that it strikes you and wakes you up right away.

After the amazing experience I had eating durian, it had become one of my favorite fruits. By judging its appearance and strong smelly organ, I wouldn’t have liked it at all. However, I gave it a chance and it had led me to another level of fruit savoring. To me durian is not a fruit anymore. It’s more like luxury dessert that I will always be craving for.

 

word count : 513

 

Leave a comment